Denise Djokic, David Jalbert - Cello Sonatas Rachmaninov and Chopin: Cello Sonatas Denise Djokic - Benjamin Britten: Three Suites for Cello Benjamin Britten: Three Suites for Cello Folklore: Denise Djokic, cellist Folklore Denise Djokic: Barber, Martinu, Britten Denise Djokic: Barber, Martinu, Britten

Rachmaninov and Chopin: Cello Sonatas

  • Release date: 2013-09-25
  • Label: ATMA
  • Catalog #: ACD2 2525

Denise Djokic: cello, David Jalbert: piano

Denise is joined by her regular chamber music partner, pianist David Jalbert.  The disc explores works by Rachmaninov and Chopin, composers more often known for their piano music, who in these pieces, demonstrate the virtuosity of both instruments. The two composers are alike in several respects: both were great pianists with high-strung temperaments, and both were Slavs who were inescapably constrained to exile by revolution. Composed early in the 20th century, Rachmaninov’s music is in many ways a continuation of Chopin’s art, as this recording demonstrates.

BUY: iTunes | Amazon | ATMA


Sergei Rachmaninov – Sonata for cello and piano in G minor, Op. 19

1 I. Lento – Allegro moderato
2 II. Allegro scherzando
3 III. Andante
4 IV. Allegro mosso

Frédéric Chopin – Sonata for cello and piano in G minor, Op. 65

5 I. Allegro moderato
6 II. Scherzo
7 III. Largo
8 IV. Finale. Allegro

Sergei Rachmaninov

9 Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14


“If you only buy one album this year, this should be the one. The superb pair of Canadian artists…have crafted a beautiful and cohesive album of Rachmaninov and Chopin cello sonatas. [In] Rachmaninov’s Sonata…Djokic’s signature flow, modest use of vibrato and passionate playing are perfectly suited to the work. Each part sings eloquently, often in response to one another. Jalbert’s alternately bubbly rippling and stately declarations in the allegro molto are a perfect foil for Djokic’s smooth-bowed lyricism. The highlight of Chopin’s Sonata for cello and piano in G minor is the bittersweet largo, an ode literally sung on the cello and echoed fluently on piano. It gives the sensation of deep breathing. The duo plumbs the depths of Chopin’s most inward emotions. Rachmaninov’s ultra-romantic Vocalise caps off the recording, sweeping you away in a visceral and intuitive reading.”

Winnipeg Free Press, 17 October 2013

“The communication between the two is a masterclass in intuitive dialogue. Djokic and Jalbert infuse a major dose of energy and dramatic intensity into these two scores thanks to an impeccable technique, an almost-incandescent sensibility and an extremely intuitive and natural interplay, all fluid…I was particularly struck by the Rachmaninov, which literally blew me away. Bravo. Djokic and Jalbert perceive very acutely the complexity of the states of the souls inherent in these two magnificent works. A superb and a great recording.”

Espace Musique, 6  November 2013

“Two outstanding young Canadian artists reunite for this terrific new release. They’re old friends and musical partners of long standing…so it’s no surprise that what stands out here is their ease of communication. Djokic and Jalbert settle into a comfortable groove, moving as one with the ebb and flow of the richly romantic Rachmaninoff Sonata, and supple in response to Chopin’s constantly shifting moods and rhythmic sleight-of-hand. They’re both clean, articulate and poised musicians. No over-wrought histrionics, no piling on of musical affect. Here you get the real goods — gorgeous music played with sensitivity and elegance.”

CBC Music, DISC OF THE WEEK, 5 October 2013